Nexara Health — Health Canada Drug Establishment Licence #3-002896

PROPOFOL INJECTION 10 MG

Last verified 2026-09-10 · Source: Health Canada Drug Product Database (DPD), DIN 02236887

PROPOFOL INJECTION 10 MG

PROPOFOL : 10 MG · DIN 02236887 · PFIZER CANADA ULC

Health Canada status: CANCELLED POST MARKET

What is PROPOFOL INJECTION?

PROPOFOL INJECTION 10 MG contains PROPOFOL : 10 MG. It is listed in the Health Canada Drug Product Database under DIN 02236887, held by PFIZER CANADA ULC, supplied as EMULSION for INTRAVENOUS administration. Health Canada currently lists it as cancelled post market, status dated 21-Feb-2020. Nexara Health is a licensed Canadian wholesale distributor (DEL 3-002896-A) and can source this product for hospitals, pharmacies and clinics. Availability and lead time are confirmed per order.

What is PROPOFOL INJECTION used for?

Induction and maintenance of general anaesthesia (adults & children ≥3yr); conscious sedation for surgical/diagnostic procedures (adults); continuous sedation in intubated/ventilated ICU adults.

Authorized indication as written in the Health Canada product monograph. For healthcare professionals and licensed purchasers; this is not medical advice.

What else is PROPOFOL INJECTION called?

The same molecule, PROPOFOL, is registered under other names elsewhere. Buyers and prescribers searching from outside Canada — or working from a foreign prescription or tender document — often know it by one of these:

NameScriptRegistered in
PROPOFOLLatinBahrain, Brazil
DIPRIVANLatinBahrain, Brazil, Morocco
ANESIALatinCzechia, Saudi Arabia
LIPUROLatinBrazil
Propofol-FarmakLatinSaudi Arabia
ProfastLatinNorway
PROPOFOL BAXTERLatinCzechia
Propofol-LipuroLatinBahrain, Norway
PROPOFOL MCT/LCT FRESENIUSLatinCzechia
PROPOVANLatinBrazil
PROVIVELatinBrazil
OPONAP®LatinBrazil
PropolipidLatinNorway
HYFOLLatinBrazil
POFOLLatinUnited Arab Emirates

Names are taken from national medicine registers and published price lists. A product registered abroad is not authorized for sale in Canada unless it holds its own DIN; import is possible only through the routes Health Canada permits.

Product details and regulatory record

DIN02236887
Brand namePROPOFOL INJECTION
Generic / active ingredientPROPOFOL : 10 MG
ManufacturerPFIZER CANADA ULC
Strength10 MG
Dosage formEMULSION
Route of administrationINTRAVENOUS
SchedulePrescription
ATC codeN01AX10 PROPOFOL
AHFS class20:12.04.16
BiosimilarNo
Health Canada statusCANCELLED POST MARKET
Status date21-Feb-2020
Original market date1998-06-02 00:00:00

How is this product identified?

Purchase orders, customs paperwork and tender documents each ask for a different identifier, and a DIN written without its leading zeros is the single most common reason an order line fails to match. Every form Nexara accepts for this product is listed here.

DIN (8-digit, as used in Nexara ordering)02236887
DIN (unpadded, as printed on some documents)2236887
Brand namePROPOFOL INJECTION
Active ingredient / INNPROPOFOL : 10 MG
ATC codeN01AX10
ATC anatomical main groupN — Nervous system
ATC therapeutic subgroupN01
AHFS class20:12.04.16
Health Canada schedulePrescription
Biosimilar biologicNo
Market authorization holderPFIZER CANADA ULC

Health Canada approved product monograph (PDF)

How is it administered?

Induction: 2.0-2.5 mg/kg (adults), lower in elderly. Maintenance: 0.1-0.2 mg/kg/min. Administer via slow infusion or injection to minimize cardiorespiratory effects. Use strict aseptic technique.

Included because it drives pack selection and wastage. Consult the monograph.

How is it stored and handled?

Not specified in the provided text excerpt.

How is it supplied?

Single-use parenteral product (specific container sizes not listed in provided text).

Which pack is which?

Strength on the label10 MG
Dosage formEMULSION
RouteINTRAVENOUS
Packaging as described in the monographSingle-use parenteral product (specific container sizes not listed in provided text).
StorageNot specified in the provided text excerpt.

One DIN can cover more than one pack size, and the pack — not the DIN — is what gets priced, shipped and invoiced. Before an order line is unambiguous Nexara needs the strength, the pack size and the presentation.

Confirm the pack and get a price

Contraindications

General anaesthesia/sedation contraindicated; known allergy/hypersensitivity to propofol or lipid emulsions; sedation of children 18 years or younger receiving intensive care.

Warnings and precautions

Administer only by trained personnel. Risk of profound hypotension, apnea, and bradycardia. Contains no preservatives; risk of microbial contamination. Not for obstetrics.

What can be used instead?

Other Canadian products sharing ATC code N01AX10 PROPOFOL. 4 of 11 DINs in this group are currently marketed — marketed products are listed first, because that is what can actually be bought. These tables describe supply, not clinical equivalence: substitution rests with the prescriber or pharmacist, and interchangeability is determined provincially.

ProductStrengthFormManufacturerHealth Canada statusDIN
DIPRIVAN 1%10 MGEMULSIONASPEN PHARMACARE CANADA INC.MARKETEDDIN 02018950
PROPOFOL INJECTION10 MGEMULSIONFRESENIUS KABI CANADA LTDMARKETEDDIN 02437643
PROPOFOL INJECTION10 MGEMULSIONBAXTER CORPORATIONMARKETEDDIN 02244379
PROPOFOL INJECTION10 MGEMULSIONMARCAN PHARMACEUTICALS INCMARKETEDDIN 02525879
PROPOFOL10 MGEMULSIONBAXTER CORPORATIONCANCELLED POST MARKETDIN 02468336
PROPOFOL INJECTION10 MGEMULSIONNOVOPHARM LIMITEDCANCELLED POST MARKETDIN 02241504
PROPOFOL INJECTION10 MGEMULSIONHOSPIRA HEALTHCARE ULCCANCELLED POST MARKETDIN 02242973
PROPOFOL INJECTION10 MGEMULSIONSTERIMAX INCAPPROVEDDIN 02559692
PROPOFOL-II INJECTION10 MGEMULSIONPFIZER CANADA ULCCANCELLED POST MARKETDIN 02376865
TEVA-PROPOFOL10 MGEMULSIONTEVA CANADA LIMITEDDORMANTDIN 02437961

Who else supplies PROPOFOL worldwide?

Nexara tracks national medicine registries and published price lists across multiple markets. PROPOFOL appears in 1483 registered pack listings across 10 markets, published on 8 different national price bases. Where a Canadian route is closed, that is where an alternative route of supply starts — subject to the import rules in both countries.

Registered listings are not stock. Ask us to confirm what can actually be sourced for your order.

How much does PROPOFOL cost around the world?

PROPOFOL is listed on 13 national price registers Nexara tracks, across 189 pack listings published on 12 different price bases. What each country publishes is set out below.

MarketWhat that country publishesBrands listedPack listingsAs of
Brazilpreco fabrica (ex-factory ceiling)104302 Sep 2026
Saudi Arabiapublic142801 Sep 2026
South Africasingle exit price182701 Sep 2026
Czechiamax producer price (ex-factory)31703 Sep 2026
Italyex-factory (classe H)171702 Sep 2026
Greeceproducer price (ex-factory)141403 Sep 2026
Norwaymax AUP (pharmacy retail)31307 Sep 2026
Bahrainretail (max)6901 Sep 2026
United Arab Emiratespublic5731 Aug 2026
Romaniamax producer price3603 Sep 2026
United Statesacquisition2503 Sep 2026
MoroccoPPV (public price)1205 Sep 2026
Lebanonpublic price (USD, Decision 119/1)1102 Sep 2026

Why there are no figures here. These bases are not comparable. A Brazilian ex-factory ceiling, a Belgian pharmacy public price and a Japanese reimbursement rate answer three different questions, and none of them is what a product lands in Canada for. Putting them side by side would mislead in both directions, so Nexara publishes where a molecule is listed and on what basis, and quotes the delivered Canadian price per order.

Ask Nexara for a landed Canadian price

Can this still be bought in Canada?

No. This Drug Identification Number is cancelled post market in Health Canada's Drug Product Database, so the product is no longer authorized for sale in Canada and Nexara does not supply it. This page is kept as a regulatory record.

If you are looking for a current equivalent, the alternatives above list every product sharing this therapeutic class, with the marketed ones first. Ask us to source an alternative

Ordering questions

Who can buy this from Nexara?

Licensed entities only. Nexara holds Health Canada establishment licence DEL 3-002896-A and ships only to a licensed address.

Is there a minimum order?

Yes, set per product line and per pack multiple rather than on the order total, so you are never asked to buy a part-pack. The minimum for this line is confirmed with your quote.

What is the lead time?

Confirmed per order at quotation, and it depends on current stock position and whether the product is in shortage.

Can Nexara supply this for a clinical trial?

Yes — comparator and background-therapy supply, including sourcing from other markets where a Canadian pack will not satisfy the protocol. Clinical trial supply.

Related pages

Sourcing this product