REQUIP 1 MG
ROPINIROLE (ROPINIROLE HYDROCHLORIDE) : 1 MG · DIN 02232567 · GLAXOSMITHKLINE INC
Health Canada status: CANCELLED POST MARKET
What is REQUIP?
REQUIP 1 MG contains ROPINIROLE (ROPINIROLE HYDROCHLORIDE) : 1 MG. It is listed in the Health Canada Drug Product Database under DIN 02232567, held by GLAXOSMITHKLINE INC, supplied as TABLET for ORAL administration. Health Canada currently lists it as cancelled post market, status dated 05-Mar-2018. Nexara Health is a licensed Canadian wholesale distributor (DEL 3-002896-A) and can source this product for hospitals, pharmacies and clinics. Availability and lead time are confirmed per order.
What is REQUIP used for?
Treatment of the signs and symptoms of idiopathic Parkinson's disease. Can be used as early therapy or as an adjunct to levodopa.
Authorized indication as written in the Health Canada product monograph. For healthcare professionals and licensed purchasers; this is not medical advice.
What else is REQUIP called?
The same molecule, ROPINIROLE, is registered under other names elsewhere. Buyers and prescribers searching from outside Canada — or working from a foreign prescription or tender document — often know it by one of these:
| Name | Script | Registered in |
|---|---|---|
| REQUIP MODUTAB | Latin | Czechia |
| AROPILOS | Latin | Czechia |
| ROLPRYNA | Latin | Czechia |
| ROPINIROL FARMAX | Latin | Czechia |
| ROPINIROL NEURAXPHARM | Latin | Czechia |
| ROPINIROLE STADA | Latin | Czechia |
| Clevor | Latin | Iceland |
Names are taken from national medicine registers and published price lists. A product registered abroad is not authorized for sale in Canada unless it holds its own DIN; import is possible only through the routes Health Canada permits.
Product details and regulatory record
| DIN | 02232567 |
|---|---|
| Brand name | REQUIP |
| Generic / active ingredient | ROPINIROLE (ROPINIROLE HYDROCHLORIDE) : 1 MG |
| Manufacturer | GLAXOSMITHKLINE INC |
| Strength | 1 MG |
| Dosage form | TABLET |
| Route of administration | ORAL |
| Schedule | Prescription |
| ATC code | N04BC04 ROPINIROLE |
| AHFS class | 28:36.20.08 |
| Biosimilar | No |
| Health Canada status | CANCELLED POST MARKET |
| Status date | 05-Mar-2018 |
| Original market date | 1997-09-25 00:00:00 |
How is this product identified?
Purchase orders, customs paperwork and tender documents each ask for a different identifier, and a DIN written without its leading zeros is the single most common reason an order line fails to match. Every form Nexara accepts for this product is listed here.
| DIN (8-digit, as used in Nexara ordering) | 02232567 |
|---|---|
| DIN (unpadded, as printed on some documents) | 2232567 |
| Brand name | REQUIP |
| Active ingredient / INN | ROPINIROLE (ROPINIROLE HYDROCHLORIDE) : 1 MG |
| ATC code | N04BC04 |
| ATC anatomical main group | N — Nervous system |
| ATC therapeutic subgroup | N04 |
| AHFS class | 28:36.20.08 |
| Health Canada schedule | Prescription |
| Biosimilar biologic | No |
| Market authorization holder | GLAXOSMITHKLINE INC |
How is it administered?
Titrate dose to clinical response. Early therapy: start 0.25 mg t.i.d. Adjunct: reduce levodopa dose as Requip is increased. Max dose 24 mg/day. Discontinue gradually over 7 days.
Included because it drives pack selection and wastage. Consult the monograph.
How is it stored and handled?
Not specified in the provided text (refer to full monograph section STORAGE AND STABILITY).
How is it supplied?
Not explicitly detailed in provided text summary, but available in 0.25 mg, 1.0 mg, 2.0 mg, and 5.0 mg strengths.
Which pack is which?
| Strength on the label | 1 MG |
|---|---|
| Dosage form | TABLET |
| Route | ORAL |
| Packaging as described in the monograph | Not explicitly detailed in provided text summary, but available in 0.25 mg, 1.0 mg, 2.0 mg, and 5.0 mg strengths. |
| Storage | Not specified in the provided text (refer to full monograph section STORAGE AND STABILITY). |
One DIN can cover more than one pack size, and the pack — not the DIN — is what gets priced, shipped and invoiced. Before an order line is unambiguous Nexara needs the strength, the pack size and the presentation, because this listing covers more than one of them.
Contraindications
Known hypersensitivity to ropinirole hydrochloride or any excipients in the drug product.
Warnings and precautions
Sudden onset of sleep without warning; orthostatic hypotension; hallucinations; impulse control disorders (gambling, hypersexuality); dyskinesia; potential for retinal pathology.
What can be used instead?
Other Canadian products sharing ATC code N04BC04 ROPINIROLE. 8 of 52 DINs in this group are currently marketed — marketed products are listed first, because that is what can actually be bought. These tables describe supply, not clinical equivalence: substitution rests with the prescriber or pharmacist, and interchangeability is determined provincially.
| Product | Strength | Form | Manufacturer | Health Canada status | DIN |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SPC-ROPINIROLE | 0.25 MG | TABLET | SUN PHARMA CANADA INC | MARKETED | DIN 02314037 |
| SPC-ROPINIROLE | 1 MG | TABLET | SUN PHARMA CANADA INC | MARKETED | DIN 02314053 |
| SPC-ROPINIROLE | 2 MG | TABLET | SUN PHARMA CANADA INC | MARKETED | DIN 02314061 |
| SPC-ROPINIROLE | 5 MG | TABLET | SUN PHARMA CANADA INC | MARKETED | DIN 02314088 |
| TEVA-ROPINIROLE | 0.25 MG | TABLET | TEVA CANADA LIMITED | MARKETED | DIN 02316846 |
| TEVA-ROPINIROLE | 1 MG | TABLET | TEVA CANADA LIMITED | MARKETED | DIN 02316854 |
| TEVA-ROPINIROLE | 2 MG | TABLET | TEVA CANADA LIMITED | MARKETED | DIN 02316862 |
| TEVA-ROPINIROLE | 5 MG | TABLET | TEVA CANADA LIMITED | MARKETED | DIN 02316870 |
| APO-ROPINIROLE | 0.25 MG | TABLET | APOTEX INC | APPROVED | DIN 02337746 |
| APO-ROPINIROLE | 0.5 MG | TABLET | APOTEX INC | APPROVED | DIN 02337754 |
Who else supplies ROPINIROLE worldwide?
Nexara tracks national medicine registries and published price lists across multiple markets. ROPINIROLE appears in 2786 registered pack listings across 9 markets, published on 8 different national price bases. Where a Canadian route is closed, that is where an alternative route of supply starts — subject to the import rules in both countries.
Registered listings are not stock. Ask us to confirm what can actually be sourced for your order.
How much does ROPINIROLE cost around the world?
ROPINIROLE is listed on 11 national price registers Nexara tracks, across 166 pack listings published on 10 different price bases. What each country publishes is set out below.
| Market | What that country publishes | Brands listed | Pack listings | As of |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| United States | acquisition | 7 | 49 | 03 Sep 2026 |
| Czechia | max producer price (ex-factory) | 6 | 27 | 03 Sep 2026 |
| Austria | KVP (Kassenverkaufspreis) | 19 | 25 | 03 Sep 2026 |
| Hungary | producer price (ex-factory) | 18 | 18 | 03 Sep 2026 |
| South Africa | single exit price | 14 | 18 | 01 Sep 2026 |
| Greece | producer price (ex-factory) | 7 | 7 | 03 Sep 2026 |
| Saudi Arabia | public | 7 | 7 | 01 Sep 2026 |
| Luxembourg | reimbursement | 6 | 6 | 05 Sep 2026 |
| Morocco | PPV (public price) | 5 | 5 | 05 Sep 2026 |
| United Kingdom | hospital | 3 | 3 | 31 Aug 2026 |
| Iceland | max wholesale | 1 | 1 | 02 Sep 2026 |
Why there are no figures here. These bases are not comparable. A Brazilian ex-factory ceiling, a Belgian pharmacy public price and a Japanese reimbursement rate answer three different questions, and none of them is what a product lands in Canada for. Putting them side by side would mislead in both directions, so Nexara publishes where a molecule is listed and on what basis, and quotes the delivered Canadian price per order.
Can this still be bought in Canada?
No. This Drug Identification Number is cancelled post market in Health Canada's Drug Product Database, so the product is no longer authorized for sale in Canada and Nexara does not supply it. This page is kept as a regulatory record.
If you are looking for a current equivalent, the alternatives above list every product sharing this therapeutic class, with the marketed ones first. Ask us to source an alternative
Ordering questions
Who can buy this from Nexara?
Licensed entities only. Nexara holds Health Canada establishment licence DEL 3-002896-A and ships only to a licensed address.
Is there a minimum order?
Yes, set per product line and per pack multiple rather than on the order total, so you are never asked to buy a part-pack. The minimum for this line is confirmed with your quote.
What is the lead time?
Confirmed per order at quotation, and it depends on current stock position and whether the product is in shortage.
Can Nexara supply this for a clinical trial?
Yes — comparator and background-therapy supply, including sourcing from other markets where a Canadian pack will not satisfy the protocol. Clinical trial supply.