FLUOTIC 20 MG
SODIUM FLUORIDE : 20 MG · DIN 02099225 · SANOFI-AVENTIS CANADA INC
Health Canada status: CANCELLED POST MARKET
What is FLUOTIC?
FLUOTIC 20 MG contains SODIUM FLUORIDE : 20 MG. It is listed in the Health Canada Drug Product Database under DIN 02099225, held by SANOFI-AVENTIS CANADA INC, supplied as TABLET (ENTERIC-COATED) for ORAL administration. Health Canada currently lists it as cancelled post market, status dated 22-Jun-2007. Nexara Health is a licensed Canadian wholesale distributor (DEL 3-002896-A) and can source this product for hospitals, pharmacies and clinics. Availability and lead time are confirmed per order.
What is FLUOTIC used for?
Medical treatment of otospongiosis; diagnosed neurosensorial hearing loss or tinnitus; postural imbalance/vertigo; post-surgical vascular focus or progressive neurosensorial deterioration.
Authorized indication as written in the Health Canada product monograph. For healthcare professionals and licensed purchasers; this is not medical advice.
Product details and regulatory record
| DIN | 02099225 |
|---|---|
| Brand name | FLUOTIC |
| Generic / active ingredient | SODIUM FLUORIDE : 20 MG |
| Manufacturer | SANOFI-AVENTIS CANADA INC |
| Strength | 20 MG |
| Dosage form | TABLET (ENTERIC-COATED) |
| Route of administration | ORAL |
| Schedule | Prescription |
| ATC code | A12CD01 SODIUM FLUORIDE |
| AHFS class | 92:00.00 |
| Biosimilar | No |
| Health Canada status | CANCELLED POST MARKET |
| Status date | 22-Jun-2007 |
| Original market date | 1995-12-31 00:00:00 |
How is this product identified?
Purchase orders, customs paperwork and tender documents each ask for a different identifier, and a DIN written without its leading zeros is the single most common reason an order line fails to match. Every form Nexara accepts for this product is listed here.
| DIN (8-digit, as used in Nexara ordering) | 02099225 |
|---|---|
| DIN (unpadded, as printed on some documents) | 2099225 |
| Brand name | FLUOTIC |
| Active ingredient / INN | SODIUM FLUORIDE : 20 MG |
| ATC code | A12CD01 |
| ATC anatomical main group | A — Alimentary tract and metabolism |
| ATC therapeutic subgroup | A12 |
| AHFS class | 92:00.00 |
| Health Canada schedule | Prescription |
| Biosimilar biologic | No |
| Market authorization holder | SANOFI-AVENTIS CANADA INC |
How is it administered?
Average dose is one 20 mg tablet three times a day with meals. Should preferably be prescribed with a daily supplement of calcium and vitamin D.
Included because it drives pack selection and wastage. Consult the monograph.
How is it stored and handled?
Not specified in the provided text.
How is it supplied?
Bottles of 100 tablets.
Which pack is which?
| Strength on the label | 20 MG |
|---|---|
| Dosage form | TABLET (ENTERIC-COATED) |
| Route | ORAL |
| Packaging as described in the monograph | Bottles of 100 tablets. |
| Storage | Not specified in the provided text. |
One DIN can cover more than one pack size, and the pack — not the DIN — is what gets priced, shipped and invoiced. Before an order line is unambiguous Nexara needs the strength, the pack size and the presentation.
Contraindications
Pregnant women, children and adolescents up to 18 years old, severe renal insufficiency, and patients with an active peptic ulcer.
Warnings and precautions
Not for dental use. Periodic clinical exams, renal function tests, serum fluoride determination (optimum 8-12 :mol/L), and radiological exams for fluorosis are required.
Is SODIUM FLUORIDE in shortage in Canada?
A Canadian shortage report is on file for a product containing this molecule: Active — reported by SANDOZ CANADA INCORPORATED, last seen 04 Sep 2026. A shortage on one presentation does not always affect every DIN of the molecule — the alternatives below list what else is marketed in Canada. Nexara can confirm current availability and identify substitutions or import options where permitted.
Who else supplies SODIUM FLUORIDE worldwide?
Nexara tracks national medicine registries and published price lists across multiple markets. SODIUM FLUORIDE appears in 5432 registered pack listings across 10 markets, published on 9 different national price bases. Where a Canadian route is closed, that is where an alternative route of supply starts — subject to the import rules in both countries.
Registered listings are not stock. Ask us to confirm what can actually be sourced for your order.
Can this still be bought in Canada?
No. This Drug Identification Number is cancelled post market in Health Canada's Drug Product Database, so the product is no longer authorized for sale in Canada and Nexara does not supply it. This page is kept as a regulatory record.
If you are looking for a current equivalent, the alternatives above list every product sharing this therapeutic class, with the marketed ones first. Ask us to source an alternative
Ordering questions
Who can buy this from Nexara?
Licensed entities only. Nexara holds Health Canada establishment licence DEL 3-002896-A and ships only to a licensed address.
Is there a minimum order?
Yes, set per product line and per pack multiple rather than on the order total, so you are never asked to buy a part-pack. The minimum for this line is confirmed with your quote.
What is the lead time?
Confirmed per order at quotation, and it depends on current stock position and whether the product is in shortage.
Can Nexara supply this for a clinical trial?
Yes — comparator and background-therapy supply, including sourcing from other markets where a Canadian pack will not satisfy the protocol. Clinical trial supply.